Thursday, July 6, 2017

Book Shelf: The Ghost of You and Me by Kelly Oram

How do you tell someone who hates you and blames you for the death of his best friend that you miss him?

From the bestselling teen and young adult author of Cinder & Ella comes a new heart-wrenching romance sure to bring all the feels.

The tragic death of Spencer Schott unravels the lives of the two people he loved most—his girlfriend, Bailey, and his best friend, Wes. Secrets and guilt from that fateful night keep both Bailey and Wes from overcoming Spencer’s loss and moving on with their lives.

Now, nearly a year later, both Bailey and Wes are still so broken over what happened that Spencer can’t find peace in the afterlife. In order to put his soul to rest, he’s given one chance to come back and set things right...even if that means setting up his girlfriend with his best friend.

With the emotional resonance of Jellicoe Road and the magical realism of The Lovely Bones, The Ghost of You and Me is a story about overcoming grief, finding redemption for past mistakes, and the healing power of friendship and love. Fans of John Green, Sarah Dessen, and Nicholas Sparks are sure to love this haunting new tale from Kelly Oram.

This is a clean young adult romance stand alone novel that reads like contemporary drama romance and has just a touch of magical realism.

More info on Goodreads......


The Ghost of You and Me is Kelly Oram’s latest release and is an emotional and heart-wrenching tale of pain, loss and the power of moving on; of letting yourself love again and learning to live after a heartbreaking tragedy.

A year ago Bailey Atkinson lost the love of her life in a drunk driving accident. Spencer was not only her boyfriend, but her best friend and the pain of his death has left her a broken, destroyed mess. It doesn’t help that the guilt of what happened that fateful night eats away at her every day and living without Spencer seems impossible. Yet Spencer loves Bailey too much to let her go on like this. Returning to her in spirit form, Spencer is determined to help the girl he loves, even if it means pushing her into the arms of his best friend Wes, who harbours his own pain and regrets about the night Spencer died. Childhood friends, it was Bailey, Spencer and Wes against the world but as teenagers Wes and Bailey drifted apart; the loss of Spencer creating an even greater divide between them. Bailey can’t move on and with the ghost of the boy she loves refusing to let her give up, Bailey sets out to reconnect with Wes, but when the truth about their rift comes out, will Bailey take a second chance at love? Or will her grief see her miss out on truly living?

The Ghost of You and Me is The Lovely Bones meets A Walk to Remember in an emotive and beguiling YA story that will truly give you the feels. Beautifully told and unfolding through the eyes of sixteen year old Bailey, The Ghost of You and Me is passionate, endearing, funny and uplifting as Kelly Oram draws her readers into an enjoyable and lovely tale.

As someone who has always loved Kelly Oram’s novels I was stoked to read The Ghost of You and Me. While fun and highly entertaining, The Ghost of You and Me wasn’t quite as light as the other Oram novel’s I’ve had the pleasure of reading, but it was still an absolutely wonderful story and so emotionally enjoyable.

Romantic at its base, The Ghost of You and Me focuses around so much more than the relationship building between Bailey and Wes and the adorable romance between Bailey and her late love, Spencer. The Ghost of You and Me showcases the pain that comes from loss and the impact it can have on a young adult who is experiencing a lot of the changes that come with growing up; friend drama, social issues, the threat of deciding their future—Kelly Oram showcases this all beautifully with a lot of endearing moments.

Engrossing and heartfelt, The Ghost of You and Me is a wonderfully written story with just a lovely hint of supernatural to give it that extra flare. Kelly Oram writes a beautiful story of pain, but hope and ends the story with a lovely aura of possibility. Highly recommend!

Source: Sent for review by I Am A Reader, Not A Writer and the author (Thank you ladies!)
Format: Kindle ebook
Release Date:
June 20th 2017 
Purchase: Amazon
Final Thoughts: A beautifully written and highly enjoyable story, I very much loved The Ghost of You and Me!


No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!