Sunday, September 4, 2016

Book Shelf: Passenger (Passenger #1) by Alexandra Bracken

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them—whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are playing, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home... forever.

More info on Goodreads......


Passenger by Alexandra Bracken is an exhilarating and adventurous time travel saga that weaves together dangerous possibilities, sizzling romance and daring escapades in the first instalment of Bracken's latest series!

Henrietta "Etta" Spencer is a violin prodigy about to make the most important debut of her life, when she suddenly finds herself thrust into an unfamiliar world alongside a stranger with a hidden secret. Quickly discovering that not only is she miles from home, but years, Etta soon learns that members of her family share an incredible ability, one she has known nothing about until now. Nicholas Carter has spent years trying to be free from the Ironwood family who lord over those with the ability to time travel. Content to sail the sea alongside his trusted crew, everything changes when the beautiful and fiery Etta arrives, throwing his world in chaos. With the Ironwoods trying to find an important device and wanting to use Etta to do so, Nicholas must join Etta in locating it before it falls into Ironwood hands. Traveling together sees Nicholas and Etta growing closer with every day that passes but will Nicholas’s secrets and his desire to protect Etta be the thing that keeps them apart?

I was a little bit surprised by the amount of bad reviews Passenger has seemed to garner, especially considering I really enjoyed the book. I’ll admit it seemed to start off slow, but in the tradition of Libba Bray and Rachel Caine, Alexandra Bracken has created a really compelling time travelling tale that picks up pace and introduces readers to some very personable characters.

The writing within Passenger was lyrical and forward moving. Unfolding through Etta and Nicholas’s back and forth POV’s Bracken depicts a really well rounded story with two main characters who have strong voices. I really liked the intricate time travel mythology Alexandra Bracken wove into Passenger also. I thought it was clever how she created the ability and the way in which travelers used passages. Taking readers on a journey across the sea, through deserts and jungles and in the middle of modern wars, Passenger is a delight of culture and history. The dynamic between the main families was intriguing and I’m definitely keen to learn more with the rest of the series.

I found Etta to be a solid female lead who was easily likable. Her voice was easy to follow within the story and I think she has a lot of potential. I don’t necessarily think her being a violin prodigy was necessary to the storyline, and I do hope to see her continue to grow as the series progresses.

If I’m being true to my heart and honest in my review, I have to say that I absolutely loved Nicholas! He’s my favourite part of the whole story and I commend Alexandra Bracken for not only including an interracial romance, but for writing a sensational coloured male lead. Nicholas was a true product of his time and his place, but boy do I love his fire, intelligence and his desire to make something of himself. Bracken weaves into Passenger truths written in history and doesn’t shy away from the trials and difficulties those like Nicholas faced in his time as they tried to find their freedom.

Despite coming from different times and the differences in the colour of their skin, Etta and Nicholas are drawn to and attracted to each other from the moment they meet and I loved seeing them fall in love. Alexandra Bracken writes some fabulous chemistry between them and I thoroughly enjoyed seeing Etta come to adore Nicholas the way she does and he her. There is a lot that may stand in the way of a union between the two of them, but I have no doubt if Etta and Nicholas are able to fight, they’ll get a happily ever after. Bracken has to give them one. Nicholas especially would do anything to protect Etta and considering all they go through, Bracken has set the stage for a really deep and meaningful romance.

Racing towards a heart pounding and unexpected ending, Passenger concludes at a powerful moment guaranteed to leave readers grasping for more and desperate to see what Alexandra Bracken has in store for her characters next. Romantic, adventurous and exciting, Passenger is a tale sure to take you on a perilous journey through time and if you're anything like me, desperately wanting more!

Sent for review by publisher (Thank you Holly!)
Publisher: Harper Collins Australia
Format: Paperback
Australian RRP:
Release Date: January 2016
Bookworld | Booktopia | The Book Depository | Amazon
Final Thoughts:
I really enjoyed this book and CANNOT wait for the next one. Especially after that cliffhanger ending!


1 comment:

  1. Thank god a positive review ..... i am going to start it next so was getting worried that it wouldn't be good.

    Amazing Review. Can't wait to begin this :)
    Aparajita @Le' Grande Codex


Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!