Thursday, May 19, 2016

Book Shelf: The Midnight Sea (The Fourth Element #1) by Kat Ross

They are the light against the darkness.

The steel against the necromancy of the Druj.

And they use demons to hunt demons….

Nazafareen lives for revenge. A girl of the isolated Four-Legs Clan, all she knows about the King's elite Water Dogs is that they leash wicked creatures called daevas to protect the empire from the Undead. But when scouts arrive to recruit young people with the gift, she leaps at the chance to join their ranks. To hunt the monsters that killed her sister.

Scarred by grief, she's willing to pay any price, even if it requires linking with a daeva named Darius. Human in body, he's possessed of a terrifying power, one that Nazafareen controls. But the golden cuffs that join them have an unwanted side effect. Each experiences the other's emotions, and human and daeva start to grow dangerously close.

As they pursue a deadly foe across the arid waste of the Great Salt Plain to the glittering capital of Persepolae, unearthing the secrets of Darius's past along the way, Nazafareen is forced to question his slavery—and her own loyalty to the empire. But with an ancient evil stirring in the north, and a young conqueror sweeping in from the west, the fate of an entire civilization may be at stake…

More info on Goodreads.....


The Midnight Sea by Kat Ross is an incredibly told, incredibly addictive and straight out fantastic fantasy that is perfect for fans of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas or Graceling by Kristin Cashore!

Set in an alluring fictional land that takes cues from real history, The Midnight Sea introduces readers to Nazafareen, a young woman who is sought by her King’s elite to train as a Water Dog; a select group of fighters who protect the empire from the Undead. Grief stricken after the loss of her sisters at the hands of an evil Druj, Nazafareen is willing to do anything to destroy the monsters that took her sisters life; even be bonded to one. In order to fight Druj on an almost even playing field, Water Dogs are linked to creatures known as daeva, a special breed of Druj that have been bred and have fought for the empire for centuries. Bonded to a daeva named Darius through a unique gold cuff, Nazafareen is unprepared for the difficulties being bonded brings….and the feelings Darius stirs in her. Though she has sworn to uphold her people’s honour, over time Nazafareen begins to question just what she’s fighting for and just who are the true monsters……

Can I just say how impressed with The Midnight Sea I was? I mean seriously. This novel was fantastic! From the opening chapters I was absolutely swept up into Nazafareen’s story and unwilling to put the novel down. It was so easy to become absorbed in the story and this lush but dangerous world Kat Ross has created. Definitely a favourite of mine so far this year.

Set against a mountainous backdrop, The Midnight Sea takes readers into the heart of various small villages and towns and explores simple mountain people, elite fighters and dangerous creatures in fabulous circumstances. Personally, I loved the blend of danger, magic and character chemistry that litters this novel. There’s a simple feel that encompasses this novel, as you would expect with a fantasy novel that explores the most promising fantasy elements and manages to weave different aspects of love, loyalty and trust in with plenty of action scenes, danger and exhilaration.

The creatures Ross introduces and features were really interesting. Druj are basically demons or evil spirits if you will, but Ross gives them a little bit of a twist and features an intriguing race of people named the daeva. Daeva are humanoid and can easily be mistaken for human. They hurt, they feel, they care……and I really enjoyed getting to know the ones we meet within the story—especially Darius if I’m begin honest.

I truly felt that Nazafareen was a wonderful heroine to follow. Strong, personable and quick thinking, Nazafareen was down to earth, comes from a simple upbringing and manages to make something of herself as a Water Dog. Yet when the time comes for her to make a stand and pick a side, she isn’t led by idle promises and pretty words—she does what she thinks is right and knows to be fair. Truly I liked her, and the tangible relationship she develops with Darius.

Obviously there’s a romantic element to the relationship between Nazafareen and Darius, but I liked that it was a delicious undercurrent to the story and that they were partners first and foremost. Connected in a way few are, Nazafareen and Darius overcame their own misguided thoughts and beliefs about the other to bond as only a bonded and their daeva can. It was thrilling seeing them grow and develop and of course I’m thrilled with the aspect of forbidden their pairing brings to the story. So much promise, so much intensity—I love it!

Filled with plenty of luscious side characters and plenty of storyline developments, Kat Ross explores her riveting new world wonderfully in this first novel; setting the story for the rest of the series and leaving this reader at least dying for the next book to once more join Nazafareen and Darius on their daring adventure!

Source: Sent for review by Xpresso Book Tours and Kat Ross (Thanks ladies!)
Format: Kindle ebook
Buy it: The Book Depository | Amazon | Barnes & Noble
My Recommendation: For fans of Sarah J. Maas and Kristin Cashore
Cover: Pretty and fitting--I like it.
Will I read sequel/continue with series: Yes, I cannot wait!


  1. Lovely review, Rachel! This sounds like a fun read and very well written, too!

  2. Thank you so, so much for this lovely review, I'm just thrilled that you enjoyed it! now I must run off and write the last two chapters of the sequel, lol!


Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!