Thursday, March 3, 2016

Book Shelf: A Tangle of Gold (The Colours of Madeleine #3) by Jaclyn Moriarty

For fans of Lev Grossman and Deborah Harkness, this funny, suspenseful, and totally original fantasy comes to its brilliantly colorful conclusion.

Cello is in crisis. Princess Ko's deception of her people has emerged and the Kingdom is outraged: The Jagged Edge Elite have taken control, placing the Princess and two members of the Royal Youth Alliance under arrest and ordering their execution; the King's attempts to negotiate their release have failed. Color storms are rampant, and nobody has heard the Cello wind blowing in months.

Meanwhile, Madeleine fears she's about to lose the Kingdom of Cello forever. Plans are in place to bring the remaining Royals home, and after that, all communication between Cello and the World will cease. That means she'll also lose Elliot, now back in Cello and being held captive by a branch of Hostiles. And there's nothing he can do to help his friends unless he can escape the Hostile compound.

Worlds apart and with time running out, Madeleine and Elliot find themselves on a collision course to save the Kingdom they love, and maybe even save each other.

More info on Goodreads......


A Tangle of Gold is the fast paced and thrilling conclusion to Jaclyn Moriarty’s The Colours of Madeline series and is a rich, powerful ending that closes the series in spectacular fashion!

Picking up where the last novel left off, A Tangle of Gold introduces readers to a Kingdom of Cello that is in crisis. Colour attacks have been steadily escalating to dangerous proportions and with Princess Ko’s deceptions revealed, a new band of Elites take power, imprisoning Princess Ko and forcing her supporters into hiding. The dangers from the Hostile armies grow and as true identities are revealed and loyalties put to the test, Elliot and Madeleine must band together with their loved ones if they have any hope of saving the Kingdom they love and its people.

Though I admit I’m sad to see this trilogy come to an end, Jaclyn Moriarty does not disappoint with this final novel—rather she introduces her readers to a new level of awesomeness that sees her reveal more incredibly unexpected twists than ever! So much happened and so much was revealed over the course of this book; it really was one roller-coaster ride after another. 

I was truly impressed with Moriarty’s ability to tie everything up so wonderfully and have so many moments, circumstances and situations make sense. There was a lot of, “Ah!” moments as everything involving our characters suddenly fell into place. There are some almost obvious revelations, but some real shockers too. 

I’ve truly fallen in love with this series; from the imaginative concepts, creations and its setting to the lyrical writing and endearing characters who you can’t help but adore. All the characters penned by Jaclyn Moriarty have purpose and personality and compliment both each other and the story beautifully. It’s so hard to fault any of them, although I missed seeing my normal Elliot for most of this novel. It was a great twist for the conflicts his indecisions caused, but like Madeleine I missed the Elliot I had come to love. 

A Tangle of Gold also gives readers the opportunity to get to know Keira a lot better. A decent portion of this novel is told through Keira’s eyes and follows Keira to the delight of this reader! Having not thought much of Keira during the first two books, following her in A Tangle or Gold only led to my absolute adoration of her—I love this girl! Keira is such a wonderful individual; so very likable and someone you really liked seeing find happiness. 

I’m sorry to see my journeys with Madeleine and Elliot come to an end. I’ve enjoyed each book immensely and have loved seeing the characters grow and develop. Madeleine’s voice has always been powerful and I’ve loved her characterisation, who alongside Elliot, were perfect main characters to follow. 

Jaclyn Moriarty has created something truly different with this series that is unique, beautiful and endlessly beguiling—this is a world you will want to get lost in time and time again!

Source: Sent for review by Pan Macmillan (Thanks guys!)
Format: Paperback ARC
Buy it: Bookworld | The Nile | The Book Depository | Amazon
My Recommendation: This is an incredible fantasy series! Don't miss it!
Cover: I don't think this cover really does the story justice--I think I liked the style of the first two better.
Will I read sequel/continue with series: This is the last book in this series, but I'll read more by Jaclyn Moriarty in the future if the opportunity arises.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hi everyone!

Thanks so much for leaving a comment at The Rest Is Still Unwritten! I read each and every comment, even if I don't reply to them all and appreciate your interest in my blog.

Hope you have a great day and Happy Reading!